Rats Rats Rats

    While my partner is at college, I have taken in his two pet rats Percy and Cici (short for Perseverance and Curiosity).

    Wednesday is cage clean day, so I had them hanging out on my stepmom's desk. They ran around for about an hour, then curled up inside a PetSmart bag to nap.

    A sleepy rat poking his head out of a small paper bag.
    This is Percy

    They've been acting a bit bored recently, so I made sure to really shake up the layout of the cage1. Sorry for no before pics.

    When I went to PetSmart yesterday to buy them more bedding, I ended up finding a bunch of rat-safe chews on clearance, so I got those. I think most of them are more meant for rabbits or hamsters- specifically there's an apple that's about the size of my boys lol. When I showed the chews to them, they didn't seem very interested, but oh well. They're in the cage anyway, hopefully they play with them when I'm not around.

    Of course, of the stuff that I bought, the thing they love most is the empty bag.

    Two rat heads poking out of a hammock, one stacked directly on top of the other.
    Percy on top, Cici on bottom

    Caught them napping like this about a week ago. I'm absolutely obsessed. They look like a Scooby-Doo cartoon. (Poor Cici- his brother is one FAT rat, I can't imagine this is comfortable for him)